The End Of The Beginning – Goodbye Belfairs Academy – Part 1

Its May 2016 and I am nearing the end of my 5 year stay at Belfairs Academy. A special place that it is known by my Dad and now me.

I must admit that it hasn’t been easy though. I left West Leigh Junior School in July 2011 on a good but upsetting note. I was venturing off on a journey that hadn’t been made in this milennia by my family before.

On another note, its scary to believe that its been 5 years since I left a school that was only just the building blocks to my life on many spectrums.

I started Belfairs with a bit of extra help than most kids because that was when I was going through a lot of trouble involving me being diagnoised with OCD and mild Autism. Mind you, with Belfairs having a new building and it being the first year of the new building being open and operational, it was meant to help me a lot. However, I also started on a bad note involving a few other pupils but then pretty much, Year 7 was awful in many retrospects when I think about it.

Year 8 was just as bad. But I did try to save my reputation from going too far down the drainpipe with in the final term by applying for the Student Voice Community Stream Ambassador role.

That was a good move and I became known for my speeches and lively reputation amongst the pupils. That was a change that I found beneficial to me and the election campaign was a great one to be part of.

I managed to get help from my local MP of David Amess and school were rather impressed by my willingness to contact my local MP for advice. My college leader praised me for this gesture. However, just as doors were opening up, some doors were closing and my college leader by the name of Miss White was leaving for Qatar.

My election campaign turned out to be impressive and I managed to win my place on the council by a landslide. Something that I hope will happen for me in politics in upcoming years. It did have its successes with a few downturns in the process but overall, it was fantastic to be part of. I wish I had made a bigger approach in terms of publicity awareness but you look back at those moments and think thats what you can do in the future.

I do recall that whilst in Year 7 and Year 8, I was very much into my football. If anything, me and football was like a perfect match. I may have been crap at football but I did give 100% whenever I did play.

Year 9 was the start of a rise to power and greatness within the school teaching community. I was giving 100% in most classes and despite the amount of detentions I was getting, I did continue to impress. My behavior wasn’t the best in places but it did try improve a bit. I did however end my school year in ruins following a few issues with friends and I started to gain my hated reputation and that was when I started to feel like a proper outsider to the year group. Its something that has never entirely gone away whilst at Belfairs but can you really blame me. I did put it on myself after all.

Coincidentally, it was in that summer that was rather crap but there was a silver lining when I started my volunteering at Canvey Island FC. I have never looked back because volunteering at the club has changed my club and it changed my perspective on Canvey from a terrible waste of space to an amazing island with potential for great investment in the future.

Year 10 marked many changes for me, having taken Economics, Drama, Computer Science and History along with Double Science, Maths and English, I was hoping to resurrect a load of friendships. Most were successful whilst some lacked growth and development. However, I do recall the fact I wanted to drop Economics in the first month of starting it. However, I carried on like always.

At the end of Year 9, I signed up to be part of the school show known as Disco Inferno. Following my volunteering at Canvey, I started dropping the rehearsals for Canvey home matches and eventually, I got paranoid with people and eventually resigned my post along with posting a rant online that got me into trouble with school as accordingly it was “bullying” and “I made the school’s reputation look bad”.

I do want to make it clear that I did eventually apologise to the whole cast and I had a lot of hate afterwards which was my own fault. I do regret everything that happened then because when I look back at it now, I think that had I left, it should’ve been earlier back in September if anything.

Truth was is that the drama department didn’t want to know me in any way. I kept clear of the teacher who had organised the show for a long time. However I insisted that I give him a christmas card as a peace offering. He accepted the card and that was me done in drama for 2014.

Unfortunately, 2015 turned out to be a bad year for me with the deaths of my Great-Uncle and my Granddad occuring in April and June. I became upset but I carried on through the dark times as I knew that there was light at the end of the tunnel.

Year 10 ended in me from being dropped as Deputy of the Community Stream in the July following an argument with the (at the time) Vice Principal. I became a bad person with a bad attitude and I solely regret that final term. I shouldn’t have said a lot of the stuff that I did say. Luckily enough, pre-season was rolling around for me at Canvey so I managed to get down there whilst I could.

Year 11 came around and my summer had been rather weird. With trips to Surrey, Norfolk and a few away days in the process with trips to Great Wakering, Dulwich, Leatherhead and Billericay taking place in the holidays.

I started with knowing a lot of work was needed to resurrect my GCSE’s. Something had to be done and I knew that I would eventually have to sacrifice going to some Canvey games in the process. It was a bold and daring thing that I was willing to do but instead, I’ve compromised it so I’m down there between 12:30 and 1:00pm instead.

Stuff for the yearbook started popping up. The yearbook for me is like a souvineur of my time at Belfairs. You can also remember someone thanks to the yearbook.

In many American yearbooks from my knowledge, many tend to write either their numbers or a little message of kindness. An example of this is in Diary Of A Wimpy Kid and Grease.

Finale:

I can say that my time at Belfairs has been memorable along with life-changing experiences. One of these is when I won the school student council elections in Year 9. I won it by a landslide and not many people can brag that these days. However, I am more noticeable as a great individual and I respect a lot of people these days.

I may have been silly in the past and I did have arguments with people over petty things but my unconditional love for the majority of my year group is rather strong even though some won’t know it or will deny it. I went to Belfairs and that’s where I became my true self. Not some plastic, two-faced boy who is a massive prick to all who go near him. I tried to be the best person I could be at Belfairs.

At Belfairs, we get taught to go above the status quo that we get given. Some people find the man or woman of their dreams whilst at school whilst some find an island and make it their paradise where they can become someone whilst there.

Some people want to become the smartest of the smart whilst some give themselves low expectations so they don’t fail too badly.

I cannot say that I’ve had completely happy days at Belfairs but I can say that the good days I’ve had, are ones worth living for at least.

To those who have read this and are part of my Year group at Belfairs, thank you for such a great time and do well in your life!

About andywilkins99

A non-league enthusiast who loves following Canvey Island FC & Great Wakering Rovers both home and away. Also very keen in Conservative and Youth Politics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

